2007 — Merited Arts Worker of Armenia.
2011— Gold Medal of Armenia’s Culture Ministry
2013 — Italian Order of Merit for Labour
2016 — Medal of Services to the Motherland, second-class

Эдуард Топчян


Eduard Topchjan studied violin at the Yerevan Conservatory and went on to study conducting with the prominent Armenian conductor Ohan Durian, followed by valuable consultations from Sir George Solti, Claudio Abbado and Nello Santi.

Since 2000 he was been an Artistic Director and Principal Conductor of the Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra. He toured with ANPO to the Czech Republic, Germany, Slovakia, France, Nuremberg, Prague, Brno, Bratislava, Paris, Lyon, Marseille, Nice and many others.

As a guest conductor he has performed with more than 50 important orchestras in Europe, the USA and Asia, among them the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Philharmonic Cologne, the Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra, the National Philharmonic Orchestra of Russia, The Hungarian National Symphony Orchestra, the Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra, the Gulbenkian Symphony Orchestra, the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra, the Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Orchestra Della Toscana and others.

Since 2007 he has been Principal Conductor of the Yerevan International Music Festival, which is an annual event that hosts numerous world-famous musicians.


His vast repertoire includes all periods from baroque to contemporary music, symphonic works as well as chamber orchestra repertoire and operas. Many pieces by composers from Armenia and abroad have been written for him and premiered by him and his orchestras.

He has conducted the operas Don Giovanni, Die Zauberflöte, Aida, Simon Boccanegra, Otello, Rigoletto, La Bohème, Madama Butterfly, Tosca, Turandot, I Pagliacci, Cavalleria Rusticana, The Queen of Spades, Eugene Onegin, and others.

Maestro Topchjan appears with such celebrated artists as Placido Domingo, Renato Bruson, Giuseppe Giacomini, Vladimir Chernov, Vincenzo La Scola, Raina Kabaivanska; Pinchas Zukerman, Mischa Maisky, Natalia Gutman, Steven Isserlis, David Geringas, Yuri Bashmet, Kim Kashkashian, Emmanuel Pahud, Radovan Vlatkovic, Sergei Nakariakov, Boris Berezovsky, Sergey Khachatryan, Julia Fischer, Isabelle Faust, Sergei Babayan, Konstantin Lifschitz, François-Joël Thiollier, Paul Mayer, Jana Bouskova, Narek Hakhnazaryan, Alexei Lyubimov, Vag Papian, Mario Brunello, Kirill Gerstein, Kolja Blacher, Sergei Krylov, Fabio Zanon, Simon Trpceski, Alexander Chaushian and many others.