The series of subscription concerts given by the Bolshoi Theatre Orchestra, Chorus and Soloists at the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall winds up with a program devoted to the works of Johannes Brahms, conducted by Maestro Vassily Sinaysky.

The Maestro will dedicate his second concert, in his capacity as Bolshoi Theatre Music Director, entirely to this outstanding German composer, including in the program, what is more, works very rarely performed in Russia.

Vassily Sinaysky does not often turn to Brahms but, each time he does, his interpretations are much talked about events in the concert world. Take, for instance, his interpretation of A German Requiem, in Moscow, in the early 90’s and quite recently, in March 2010, his performance of the Brahms “Double” Concerto in Seattle (the Maestro’s appearance with the Seattle Symphony Orchestra got elated reviews in the press and in classical music forums).

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Tragic Overture in D minor, op. 81

Rhapsody for Alto, Male Chorus and Orchestra, op. 53

Text by Goethe

Symphony No. 1 in C minor, op. 68

Soloist — Maria Gortsevskaya (mezzo-soprano)
Bolshoi Theatre of Russia Symphony Orchestra and Chorus
Conductor — Vassily Sinaysky