Anticipating Postscript


The evening will be opened by a creation with a name that speaks for itself McGregor+Mugler: a combination of space-like geometry of choreography by Wayne McGregor and costumes that look as though they imitate snakeskin by an “extreme” couturier Thierry Mugler, plus music written by Holly Herndon and Nils Frahm using artificial intelligence, it promises a spectacle which will live long in the memory. The premiere of this ballet, that was staged specifically to order by the company MuzArts for Principal dancer Olga Smirnova, was held in 2019 on the stage of the London Coliseum, but it will be performed in Russia for the very first time.

This is also true for the ballet by Aleksey Ratmansky “Souvenir d'un lieu cher”, which is “sweet but not at all saccharine, blissful but not quite joyous; darkly mysterious but not at all bleak; and melancholy but wonderfully vibrant” (as it was described by the online-portal CriticalDance) meaning that it precisely delivers the nuances of the pieces for violin and piano by Petr Ilyich Tchaikovsky.

The well-known “Faun” by Sidi Larbi Cherkaou has already charmed the stage of the Bolshoi Theatre. The premiere of the Russian production was held in 2018 at the Bolshoi itself: contained within the gala-evening “A Play for Him”.

The powerful final part of the programme, in accordance with its name, is also an extremely famous piece: Postscript, which was originally staged by Sol Léon and Paul Lightfoot for the Dutch troupe NDT2. A complicated and inventive choreography of the ballet is full of unexpected and witty discoveries, but each brain-twister serves as a “tool” to demonstrate not only the technical mastery of the dancers but also their readiness for emotional contact, both inseparable and infinite.

The programme will take place on the New Stage twice: on the 25th and 26th of May. The leading artists of the Bolshoi ballet will perform: Ekaterina Krysanova, Olga Smirnova (in three parts of the programme!), Anastasia Stashkevich, Anastasia Denisova, Artemy Belyakov, Vyacheslav Lopatin, Denis Savin, Japoco Tissi and Artur Mkrtchan.